EORTC HQ Directors

  • Director General

    Denis Lacombe

    Dr. Denis Lacombe is involved in the coordination and administration of all EORTC activities to promote EORTC as a major European organisation in cancer clinical and translational research. He is responsible for scientific and public policy activities, developing and implementing medium-term strategies as defined by the EORTC Board, and internal and external communications.

  • Headquarters Director

    Vassilis Golfinopoulos

    Dr. Vassilis Golfinopoulos oversees the Medical department, including the Translational Research and Pharmacovigilance, Clinical Operations, and the Quality of Life departments at EORTC. His tasks include developing and implementing scientific strategy and supporting EORTC Board initiatives. He also acts as clinical research physician for the EORTC Brain Tumour group.

  • Scientific Director

    Jan Bogaerts

    Dr. Jan Bogaerts oversees operational and methodological aspects of conducting EORTC’s international clinical studies, including the Statistics, Information Technology and Data Management departments.

  • Chief financial officer

    Christian Brunet

    As Chief Financial Officer, Christian Brunet is head of the Accounting & Finance and Contracts & Budget departments, and supervises finance-related processes within EORTC.

  • Director of Special Projects

    Françoise Meunier

    Prof. Françoise Meunier served as EORTC Director General from 1991 through 2015. She focused on developing the EORTC headquarters as a research infrastructure and took an active role in cultivating future generations of clinical oncologists by creating the EORTC Fellowship Programme. Now EORTC Director Special Projects, she drives activities such as EORTC cancer survivorship initiatives and fundraising projects.


Senior Management Team

  • Clinical Operation – Project Management and cta regulatory affairs

    Ann Marinus

  • Statistics & Independent – Data Monitoring

    Laurence Collette

  • Medical & Pharmacovigilance – Fellowship

    Sandrine Marréaud

  • Translational Research – Radiotherapy & Imaging

    Yan Liu

  • IT Management

    Pascal Ruyskart

  • Quality of Life

    Andrew Bottomley

  • Data Management

    Larissa Polders

  • Human Resources Management

    Caroline Gilotay