Meet the new EORTC Board

The year 2024 signals the beginning of a new governing mandate. We are delighted to announce that during the General Assembly held on Friday, 28 June 2024, the new EORTC Board was appointed.

We warmly welcome four distinguished new members to our Board: Mrs Caroline Artis, the new Chair of the Audit & Finance Committee; Dr Roberto Salgado, who joins as a board member; Professor Martin van den Bent, the new Chair of the Protocol Review Committee; and Early Career Investigator, Dr Jens Lehmann.

Additionally, we are pleased to announce that Dr Etienne Brain and Dr Mieke Van Hemelrijck have been re-elected for a second term, and Dr Jean-Pierre Bizzari will now serve as Special Advisor. The rest of the board members have been renewed in their current roles.

The full new Board will convene for the first time in September. The current President, Professor W. van der Graaf, will remain in position until June 2026, as approved by the General Assembly, ensuring continuity during the recent changes in the EORTC’s governance structure.

Back to news list

Related News

  • We are pleased to announce the release of the EORTC 2023 Annual Report

  • Dr Denis Lacombe, EORTC CEO, appointed stakeholder co-chair of ACT EU advisory group

  • Clinical Trials Day 2024: a Q&A on pragmatic clinical trials

  • EORTC/EMA workshop suggests an international way forward for treatment optimisation studies

  • EORTC’s Participation at the ESTRO Congress 2024

  • EORTC: Advancing research and treatment for rare cancers

  • EORTC Fellowship Programme: celebrating more than 20 years of impactful collaboration

  • Appointment of Malte Peters as EORTC Strategic Alliance Officer

  • Unique series of workshops in partnership with the European Medicines Agency (EMA)

  • EORTC launches a prominent clinical trial in older patients with locally advanced (LA) HNSCC (Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma)