EORTC Abstracts at ASCO 2013 in Chicago

The EORTC will present thirteen abstracts at the ASCO 2013 Annual Meeting which will be held 31 May – 04 June 2013 in Chicago, Illinois. All thirteen of the EORTC’s submitted abstracts were accepted for presentation: four abstracts will be presented in Oral Abstract Sessions, one in a Clinical Science Symposium, two in Poster Discussion Sessions, and five in General Poster Sessions. Full texts of these abstracts are available on the ASCO 2013 website.

Oral Abstract Session

Abstract # LBA2009

Roger Stupp, Monika E. Hegi, Thierry Gorlia, Sara Erridge, Danica Grujicic, Joachim Peter Steinbach, Wolfgang Wick, Rafal Tarnawski, Do-Hyun Nam, Astrid Weyerbrock, Peter Hau, Martin JB Taphoorn, Louis B. Nabors, David A. Reardon, Martin J. Van Den Bent, James R. Perry, Yong Kil Hong, Christine Hicking, Martin Picard, and Michael Weller
Cilengitide combined with standard treatment for patients with newly diagnosed glioblastoma with O6-methylguanine-DNA methyltransferase (MGMT) promoter methylation: Final results of the multicenter, randomized, open-label, controlled, phase III centric study

Abstract # LBA1001

Emiel J. Rutgers, Mila Donker, Marieke Evelien Straver, Philip Meijnen, Cornelis J. H. Van De Velde, Robert E. Mansel, Helen Westenberg, Lorenzo Orzalesi, Willem H. Bouma, Huub van der Mijle, Grard A. P. Nieuwenhuijzen, Sanne C. Veltkamp, Leen Slaets, Carlo G. M. Messina, Nicole J. Duez, Coen Hurkmans, Jan Bogaerts, and Geertjan van Tienhoven
Radiotherapy or surgery of the axilla after a positive sentinel node in breast cancer patients: Final analysis of the EORTC AMAROS trial (10981/22023)

Abstract # 2007

Brigitta G Baumert, Warren P. Mason, Gail Ryan, Jacoline E Bromberg, Martin J. Van Den Bent, Khê Hoang-Xuan, Alba Ariela Brandes, Guy Kantor, Martin JB Taphoorn, Mohamed Ben Hassel, Jeremy Rees, Wolfgang Wick, Andreas Von Deimling, Christian Hartmann, Johan M Kros, Monika E. Hegi, Nicolas Dif, Denis A. Lacombe, Thierry Gorlia, and Roger Stupp
Temozolomide chemotherapy vs. radiotherapy in molecularly characterized (1p loss) low-grade glioma. a randomized phase III intergroup study by the EORTC/NCIC-CTG/TROG/MRC-CTU (EORTC 22033-26033)

Abstract # 10500

Paolo Giovanni Casali, Axel Le Cesne, Andres Poveda Velasco, Dusan Kotasek, Piotr Rutkowski, Peter Hohenberger, Elena Fumagalli, Ian Robert Judson, Antoine Italiano, Javier Martin Broto, Alessandro Gronchi, Angelo Paolo Dei Tos, Sandrine Marreaud, Winette T.A. Van Der Graaf, John Raymond Zalcberg, Saskia Litière, Jean-Yves Blay, EORTC Soft Tissue and Bone Sarcoma Group (EORTC STBSG), French Sarcoma Group (FSG), Italian Sarcoma Group (ISG), Grupo Español de Investigación en Sarcomas (GEIS), and Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG)
Imatinib failure-free survival in patients with localized gastrointestinal stromal tumors treated with adjuvant imatinib: the EORTC/AGITG/FSG/GEIS/ISG randomized controlled Phase III trial

Clinical Science Symposium

Abstract # 2011

Martin J Van Den Bent, Lale Erdem, Thierry Gorlia, Martin JB Taphoorn, Johan M Kros, Pieter Wesseling, Anouk Allgeier, Hendrikus J Dubbink, Ahmed Idbaih, Marc Sanson, and Pim French
Optimizing the identification of anaplastic oligodendroglioma patients that benefit from adjuvant PCV chemotherapy using the illumina platform: A further report from EORTC study 26951

Poster Discussion Session

Abstract # 4529

Sandra Collette, R Sylvester, J Bellmunt, G Mead, JM Kerst, M Leahy, P Maroto, T Gil, S Marreaud, G Daugaard, I Skoneczna, R de Wit, and M De Santis
Prognostics factors in previously untreated urothelial cancer patients ineligible for Cisplatin based chemotherapy: an external validation of the Bajorin risk groups

Abstract # 3531

Hans Joachim Schmoll, K Haustermans, T Price, B Nordlinger, RD Hofheinz, J-F Daisne, J Janssens, B Brenner, P Schmidt, H Reinel, S Hollerbach, K Caca, F Fauth, CV Hannig, J Zalcberg, N Tebbutt, ME Mauer, C Messina, M Lutz, and E Van Cutsem
Preoperative chemoradiotherapy and postoperative chemotherapy with capecitabine and oxaliplatin versus capecitabine alone in locally advanced rectal cancer: First results of the PETACC-6 randomized phase III trial

General Poster Session

Abstract # 7585

Rabab Mohamed Gaafar, Sanjay Popat, Jan P. Van Meerbeeck, Paul Baas, Dean Fennell, Athanasios G. Pallis, Baktiar Hasan, and Mary O’Brien
Platelet counts at baseline and on treatment as predictor for progression free survival in patients with advanced malignant pleural mesothelioma: EORTC 08052 study

Abstract # 7584

Baktiar Hasan, Athanasios G. Pallis, Rabab Mohamed Gaafar, Laurent Greillier, Jan P. Van Meerbeeck, and Mary O’Brien
Independent validation of progression free survival rate at 9 and 18 weeks as predictor for overall survival in patients with malignant pleural mesothelioma: EORTC 08052 study

Abstract # 10573

Agnieszka Wozniak, EAC Wiemer, H Burger, J Allemeersch, R van Eijsden, RHJ Mathijssen, S Sleijfer, M Smid, G Floris, R Sciot, S Marreaud, A Nzokirantevye, C Hayward, J Simon, and P Schöffski
Identification of potential molecular biomarkers for response of soft tissue sarcoma to eribulin: Translational results of EORTC trial 62052

Abstract # 10553

Bernd Kasper, Saskia Litière, Sandrine Marreaud, Stefan Sleijfer, Jaap Verweij, Sebastian Bauer, Jan M. Kerst, and Winette T.A. Van Der Graaf
Long term responders and survivors on pazopanib for soft tissue sarcomas. Subanalysis of two EORTC clinical trials 62043 and 62072

Abstract # 587

Caroline Drukker, Marjanka Schmidt, Emiel J. Rutgers, Fatima Cardoso, Karla Kerlikowske, Laura Esserman, Leen Slaets, Jan Bogaerts, and Laura J. van ‘t Veer
Breast cancer screening: Biology of tumors detected by analog and digital mammography

Abstract # 3525

Julien Taieb, Josep Tabernero, Enrico Mini, Fabien Subtil, Gunnar Folprecht, Jean-Luc Van Laethem, Joseph Thaler, John Bridgewater, Evaristo Sanches, Lone Nørgård Petersen, Laurence Collette, Eric Van Cutsem, Karine Le Malicot, Philippe Rougier, Ramon Salazar, Laurent Bedenne, Jean-François Emile, Pierre Laurent-Puig, and Come Lepage
Subgroup analyses results of the PETACC8 phase III trial comparing adjuvant FOLFOX4 with or without cetuximab in resected stage III colon cancer

For more information concerning EORTC trials, please contact:

John Bean, PhD
EORTC, Medical Science Writer

Back to news list

Related News

  • Full validation of the EORTC CAT Core

  • SISAQOL-IMI: Setting standards for the use of patient-reported outcome data in cancer trials

  • Synthesis of minimally important differences for interpreting EORTC QLQ-C30 change scores across nine cancer types

  • Publication of 2022 EORTC Annual Report

  • EORTC is supporting Clinical Trials Day on 20th May

  • Studying long-term survivors of glioblastoma may pave the way to better treatment

  • Three new EORTC clinical trials funded by the EU

  • Important new results from EORTC to be presented at ESTRO 2023

  • EORTC QLG proudly collaborates on the EUonQoL project

  • HMP Global and EORTC announce partnership for the 25th annual World Congress on Gastrointestinal Cancer